MY DAY JOB VS MY DREAM JOB

I have the most amazing job. I get to work a little before 9 every day, my coffee is waiting on my desk (my desk, by the way, is in front of a huge glass window facing the most awesome view) My work related emails have already been answered to by my assistant, only personal emails await me, skype is ready and on the go. I have a lunch date scheduled with my bestie, after which, an extended break to do a bit of shopping and then back to the office. More email (personal stuff)…after an hour of laughter (brought on by the personal email)… I need to really take a break.

I Take a 15 minute chat break in the break room, where I meet other hard working colleagues, and where we are able to share the latest tv series watched.

I Get back to my office, and I really need a cup of coffee.

After a well – deserved coffee break,,,,well,,,,what do you know, it’s 16.00 already, time to go home. What a day!!!!!

Okay and now for my day job…………….

I get to my prison cell (oops, I mean my office) at 06:00 every day, I almost manage to put down my bag when the first needy person informs me of some life and death situation he is in, and that he needs my help immediately. While trying to “save” him, I dangle my phone between my ear and shoulder while trying to understand what the person on the other side of the line is screaming about.

My boss walks in and wants to know why I’m on the phone when he is trying to get hold of me “URGENTLY”

After demonstrating to my boss how to push the green start button on the photocopier, I get back to helping person number 4. Quick time check, 07:00, time for the first meeting, the start of many more hours in the boardroom. (now I know why it’s called a “boardroom”, it’s where I go to get “bored”)

In walks the chairperson with a steaming mug of coffee (hey, wait a minute, I remember that, I used to consume a lot of it at one stage, the aroma is bringing back memories)…

After two hours of the usual problems being pointed out to us, (with still no solutions in sight), I head back to my office. I almost make it in without anyone noticing, but as luck would have it, I was a split second too late, and my office started filling in like there was a ticket sale at Park Station.

I try to wipe a bead of sweat off my forehead, and notice the little reminder on the palm of my hand, “loo break”. I knew I was forgetting something.

One task down, only a hundred more to go.

Finally its 17:30, time to go home, well at least it was, an hour and a half ago.

With sore shoulders and aching feet I slowly make my way to my second, non -paying job, (motherhood)

Millions of us do this to ourselves on a daily basis. We find ourselves in a rut and are either unable to, or too scared to make a change.

I think we should start asking ourselves the question “how much is enough?” how much money do we really need in our lives to make us happy.

I’d rather earn less money and be happy, than to be miserable with lots of money. I know most of you will disagree, because ‘It’s better to cry in a Mercedes instead of on a bicycle, Right??….

“We will be more successful in all our endeavors if we can let go of the habit of running all the time, and take little pauses to relax and re-center ourselves. And we’ll also have a lot more joy in living”.

Thich Nhat Hanh

r            rr

6 thoughts on “MY DAY JOB VS MY DREAM JOB

    • if i could spend my days near an ocean, living the simple life, (no cars, malls, etc), and just doing what i never had time for before, and just being able to be the one who controls my own life,,,that would be my dream come true…that would be ENOUGH for me..

      Like

  1. U truly nailed it, i laughed so hard i nearly fell off my chair ( ooh i mean the execution thing that is timed 8 hours 5 days a week to torture us) i can so relate with this article, it is time to change to actually say ENOUGH is ENOUGH!!

    Like

    • Lol, and u’ve been to my office and u know ‘my day job’ is almost exactly like I described. I keep saying, nxt year it will get better, but that never happens, lol

      Tnx for the feedback.

      Like

Leave a Reply

