RAISING A TEENAGER IS LIKE NAILING JELLY TO A TREE

Only if you are a parent of a teenager will u understand why some animals eat their young. Dealing with a teenager is like watching a traffic light go from green to red, but in fast forward. One minute your teen is green and in the next split second she is red. It’s like living with bipolar, only ten times worse.

I often wondered if it was me who needs psychiatric treatment, because there’s no way this is real. Either that or my house is possessed by tiny little evil demons who wreak havoc, and then sit back and laugh while I suffer.

My teen’s moods go from 0 to 100 in split seconds. Don’t believe me? just try having a 10 minute conversation with her. she will find hidden meanings and accusations in everything you say. How is it my fault If I asked her why she spends so much time on Facebook, or why is she chatting to boys, or why does she listen to music so much??????

Yes parents, this is the deadly “every action has an equal reaction” scenario.

Yes, I agree, Teenagers are definitely a different species (scientist are still working on possible explanations), but, have you ever stopped to think , how we, as parents contribute to their already complicated lives?

We ‘empower’ our kids with Facebook,(all the kids are doing it, right?), and then we complain about how much time they are spending on it.

We allow them to have boys as friends and then we insult them when they chat to each other. So, naturally they are going to feel like we are checking up on them or accusing them of something which we allowed in the first place.

Yes, I hear what you saying, it’s a different world, and kids are more advanced, etc etc…

But do we have to give them so much freedom or allow them to make so many decisions for themselves, when most of the time they are unable to even decide on what to eat.

There are boundaries which kids actually appreciate (they just don’t realise it yet). Give them everything but in small dosages. We rely on our kids to make too many decisions for themselves. We arm them with too many weapons and then expect them not to use those weapons.

All I’m saying is, that we should not weigh our kids down with too many responsibilities. Let them enjoy and cherish their childhood, let them be kids and not problem solvers. Their time will come in life when they have to cross that bridge alone.

I have noticed it’s the kids who have too many burdens on their shoulders who end up taking advantage of every opportunity to break free and just be themselves, and also there are kids who have too little to do and too much time on their hands who do the same. And that’s when the trouble starts.

I am by no means an expert on teenage behaviour (I’m still studying towards my degree in Alien science), so the above is just my opinion, please feel free to share with me your thoughts on this issue. (God knows I need all the help I can get)..

rq

5 thoughts on “RAISING A TEENAGER IS LIKE NAILING JELLY TO A TREE

  1. Interesting article indeed. I don’t have kids of my own but I feel that a lot of the principles we were brought up with have been cast aside, which is a shame considering we turned out all right.

    Like

  2. Teens will be teens truth be told. The way i see it boundaries will have to be set and freedom given but not too much, No one wants they kid sneaking out the house at 12:00am right? Snuggle them with love and give them all your time even if they embarassed by it now, A couple years down the line they would have remembered you for it. Take time to hear them out for a change. The 21st century of teens… Scientist are still confused and so are we…

    Amazing blog. THANK YOU!

    Like

  3. 1stly well done on your blog 🙂
    Teens !!! I can so relate, feels like we on a different planet to them, trying to understand them, well lets say brain surgery is easier even for us layman.
    Greatest fear about them that I pray daily for the Allah guide them in the right part always & keep them firm in their Imaan, Ameen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

